I must admit this has been one of best cons I’ve been indirectly involved. There was alot of people taking video which sort of unsettled the voice guests. especially with me and my tripod and camcorder. Still when the guy who is producing the con, stands up and vouches for your validness with those guests as being a person who is okay to record an event honestly and fairly is something else.

I try to present an event without bias even if it’s an event that competes with another events. I try to put the best picture foreward of cosplayers with rating their costumes or performance.

Of course with Youtube, anyone can upload anything but it takes a few who can try to make a story out of a clip. It’s exhausting and sometimes even though you have hours of video It still may not add up to something worth posting.

Last year, since I only had one battery I tried to grab clips and ended with nothing. This year, I had 3 batteries and hours of videos and might have just as much video as last year. It’s not like a masquerade where you can just cut between skits and post. It might take months to find something in all the dialogue that is news worthy. Some things might be hilarious at the time but later on, ‘I said that?!‘ sinks in.

I might just make one posting on all the times that the guests mentioned ‘Youtube’ alone.

Alot of TV producers have to make the call everyday on what’s worth airing. When I was a volunteer for Cablecast, I tried to do a ‘story’ in spite of my best efforts, there just wasn’t one there. I was surprise to hear from the producer that this happens alot even with the professionals and not to give up.

This year, I will try again to make something out of the stuff I record other than just recording masquerades. It may not be easy but it still will be worth it. Hopefully others will join in this persuit of not just putting another stupid clip on Youtube.

As it is, I wiped. I spent a late night until nearly 3am to get stuff up only to spend another day and 5 hours on bus to get there and back. Sorry for those waiting for today’s pictures but I’m going to crash now then go at processing today’s pictures then try to go back and sort though those which will make up a con report.

As for video, I start unloading the Cosplay Idol footage to get people’s performances up. Sorting through another 2 hours of con panel dialogue will take time and may be used in future Anime Video Zines on Youtube.

I do encourage those looking into voice acting to check the forums of Voice Acting Alliance and two worthy audio podcasts drama sites, Kung Fu Action Theatre (produced by the former president of Anime London) and Decoder Ring Theatre (based out of Toronto) to hear what can be done with microphone some software and decent script.

For those who are looking to be a video reporter at cons and wanting to do interviews and reports, I can’t recommend enough community television whither it be through Rogers or some other cable outlet in your area.

It was such an outlet that started an career of a somewhat noteable 17 year old witha puppet. No not Ed the Sock but another sock puppet called kermit and teenager whose name was Jim Henson.

Enough of this … I’m tired. I try to get to the last of the pictures … when I wake up. 🙂

